International Competition

Foto: Tom Taylor

Candice Gordon

(Berlin, Germany)

Biography

Head of Cultural Affairs for the Embassy of Ireland in Berlin and acclaimed musical artist, Candice Gordon has a vast experience of working in the arts – from leading multidisciplinary projects to working with many mediums for her own releases including film, photography, and animation. She has collaborated with many artists including Conor Finnegan who animated a video for her single “Sound of Horns“ (2014). It won Vimeo’s Staff Pick, was nominated for the Zebra Poetry Film award, and featured in the Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film. Her album “Garden of Beasts“, EP “Before the Sunset Ends“ and singles have garnered radio play and she has shared the stage with Shane MacGowan, Nick Cave, Kevin Morby and others. She has spearheaded projects with the Irish Embassy such as “An Irish Night In“ (2020), was co-founder and curator of multi-disciplinary arts festival “Craw“ (2018), and founder of the political and artistic forum Re:Public (2011) in Dublin.

Anita Killi

(Dovre, Norway)

Biography

Anita Killi is a Norwegian animation filmmaker whom studied illustration, graphic design, animation and documentary film. She has her masters-degree majoring in handmade animation / multiplan technique from KHiO – Oslo National Academy of the Arts. Anita Killi runs the studio Trollfilm on her farm in Dovre, Norway since 1995. She is most known for “The Hegde of Thorns“ (2001) about children and war, and “Angry Man“ (2009) about violence in families. Anita Killis films usually touch taboo themes, and they have received about 100 awards.

Anna Mantzaris

(Stockholm, Sweden)

Biography

Anna Mantzaris is a multi award winning Swedish animation director. She loves to work with different textures and materials to give her work a handmade feel. She often works with humour and very human and imperfect characters. Her short films have won over 60 international awards, including European Animation Award (2018), Vimeo Best of the Year (2019), Walt Disney Award (2013) and Audience Award at Ottawa International Animation Festival (2013) and Lotte Reininger Award at Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film (2018). Anna Mantzaris has an MA in Animation from the Royal College of Art and worked on Wes Anderson’s “Isle of Dogs” i.a.

Monique Renault

(Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Biography

Monique Renault, born in Rennes, France, studied fine arts at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux Arts in Rennes and Paris. With a scholarship to study animation, she went to Prague in 1966. In 1972, she became chief animator at aaa Studio (Jaques Rouxel and Marcelle Ponti), she went to Amsterdam in 1976 and aqcuired Dutch nationality. From 2003 to 2010, she has been working for PH Productions, Tokyo, Japan. One of the first female animators, Monique Renault has been addressing female sexuality, gender roles and prejudices since early 1970.

IW_Morten-Thorning-2021

Morten Thorning

(Viborg, Denmark)

Biography

Morten Thorning is the creator and was the general Director of The Animation Workshop from 1988 till 2019. Driven by his big passion for animation he put The Animation Workshop behind the production of more than 200 animated short films, documentary, and science films, and 30 exhibitions, installations, and immersive XR-productions. He founded several educations and developed over 100 professional courses in animation. He founded the Danish animation artist residency “Open Workshop” in 1997 and the combined company and incubation house Arsenalet in 2012. Morten Thorning is founder and director of the Viborg Animation Festival and the R&D Center for Animation, Visualization and Digital Storytelling at the VIA University College focusing on the artistic development of animation and storytelling in art, culture and communication. He has been awarded with the Bodil Prize (2017), the Hanne Hansen Prize (2016) and the Ping Prize (2020).

Young Animation

Akin Akinsiku

(London, United Kingdom)

Biography

Akin Akinsiku is a British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) award winning creative and director with over 15 years experience working in children’s TV and advertising. A multipole discipline storyteller, his works ranges from writing and directing commercials for household brands like Microsoft to creating pioneering branded content / short and long form in the kids space. Akin Akinsiku also works across both the animation and live action genres. He has worked with MTV, The Walt Disney Channel and was art director at Nickelodeon for over eight years. His works have been broadcast internationally, including Germany, Turkey, South Africa, Poland and USA. Akin Akinsiku is a company director of Five Apples, and a co-creator, director and writer on BAFTA nominated CBeebies pre-school drama „Apple Tree House“.

Daria Kashcheeva

(Prague, Czech Republic)

Biography

Daria Kashcheeva studies animated film at the Film and TV School of the Academy of Performing Arts (FAMU) in Prague. Her student films were featured at many international festivals. Daria Kashcheeva’s original “To Accept” (2017) won the Nespresso Talents film competition at Cannes Film Festival. Her Bachelor’s puppet animation “Daughter” (2019) had its premiere at the Annecy Animation Film Festival and received the Cristal Award for the best student film and the Young Jury Award in the student film section there. At the ITFS 2020 it won the Young Animation Award. The film won the 46th Student Academy Award in the category International Animation, the Short Film Jury Award for Animation at the Sundance Film Festival in 2020 and was nominated for the 92nd Academy Award for the best short animated film. Currently she is preparing her master-degree film “Electra. A Poem” in stop motion pixilation technique.

Daniel Höpfner

(Hamburg, Germany)

Biography

Daniel Höpfner is an experimenter and innovator of stop motion film. He graduated from the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF and has been working as a freelance filmmaker and musician since 2007. He began his film career in the early 1990s with anarchic Super 8 films and abstract-visual experiments. His stop motion and puppet animation films have won numerous awards, including the prize for “Most Imaginative Film” at the Odense Film Festival for “Cherchez la femme” (2002) and the German Short Film Award in Gold for “Anhalter” (2008).

AniMovie

Foto: Lena Jürgensen

Reza Memari

(Berlin / New York)

Biography

Reza Memari is an award-winning animation screenwriter and director. He is the author, editor and co-director of “A Stork’s Journey” (2017), which premiered at the Berlin International Film Festival and became a worldwide critical and commercial success. In 2018 he co-founded Telescope Animation Studios in Berlin and Hamburg. The company is developing “The Last Whale Singer” (2024), an epic underwater story universe consisting of a feature film, a video game, a series, and an XR experience. He lives in Berlin and Brooklyn, New York.

Hideki Nagaishi

(London, United Kingdom)

Biography

Hideki Nagaishi launched “Animationweek”, an online interview magazine for global animation professionals, in London after completing his master’s degree in Innovation Management at Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design, following his research on the development of innovative animation and comics by fusing different cultures. Since its founding, he has been interviewing as editor-in-chief the leading animation professionals from around the world with his passion in facilitating international collaboration among animation creators to create groundbreaking animation.

Irene Wellershoff

(Mainz, Germany)

Biography

Irene Wellershoff was head of the editorial department of ZDF’s children’s programme until 2020. Many years ago, she invented “Siebenstein”, where animated short films have had a permanent place ever since. In addition to numerous series (including “Pingu”, “Ritter Rost”, “Biene Maja”, “Wickie”, “Petzi”, “Lieselotte”), feature films (including “Hände weg von Mississippi”, “Bibi und Tina”, “Pettersson und Findus”, “Timm Thaler”, “Die Heinzels”) and the initiative “Outstanding Films for Children” she is responsible for the series “Märchenperlen”. The programmes of her editorial office have won numerous German and international prizes, such as the Prix Jeunesse, the German Film Award, the Goldener Spatz, the Japan Prize, the Geisendörfer Prize and the Grimme Award. In 2018, she was awarded the Hanauer Märchendozentur. Since 2020 she has been working on projects of her own.

Animated Games Award Germany

Sabine Harrer

Department of Game Design, Uppsala University, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Linda Breitlauch

Professor for Game Design at Hochschule Trier, Chief Creative Officer at Skilltree GmbH, Trier

Philipp Stollenmayer

Game Designer, Würzburg

Foto: Fabian Stürtz

Prof. Dr. Judith Ackermann

Professor for “Digitale und Vernetzte Medien in der Sozialen Arbeit“, Potsdam

German Animation Screenplay Award

Peter Keydel

Film and TV producer at Mistral Film, Düsseldorf, Mago Production, Barcelona

Holger Weiss

CEO, Head of Animation M.A.R.K. 13, Stuttgart

Silke Wilfinger

Managing Director, Silkwayfilms, Munich

Maite Woköck

CEO & Producer, Telescope Animation Studios, Hamburg

Trickstar Business Award

Jens Gutfleisch

Managing Director at Film Commission Region Stuttgart, Stuttgart

Foto: Corneel de Wilde

Tünde Vollenbroek

Producer, Studio Pupil, Curator at Kaboom Animation Festival, Amsterdam

Dieter Krauß

Managing Director Organisation & Finances at Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH, Stuttgart

Gabriele M. Walther

Founder, CEO at Caligari Film- und Fernsehproduktions GmbH, München / Munich, Traffix Entertainment GmbH, Stuttgart

Marc König

Head of Business Developement at bwcon Research gGmbH, Stuttgart

Solveig Langeland

Managing Director at Sola Media, Stuttgart

New World Classic Animation Award

Zeljko Lopicic

CEO at Instant Music Licensing GmbH, Stuttgart

Daniela Schübel

Managing Director at Frau Schübel Tonstudio, Stuttgart

Michael Fakesch

Founder of Designing Sounds, Rosenheim

Elisabeth Jakobi

Animation artist, Illustrator, Vienna

Internationaler Wettbewerb

Foto: Tom Taylor

Candice Gordon

(Berlin, Deutschland)

Biografie

Candice Gordon, Leiterin der Abteilung für kulturelle Angelegenheiten der Botschaft der Republik Irland in Berlin und gefeierte Musikkünstlerin, verfügt über große Erfahrung in der Kunst – von der Leitung multidisziplinärer Projekte bis hin zur Arbeit mit vielerlei Medien für ihre eigenen Veröffentlichungen, darunter Film, Fotografie und Animation. Sie hat mit vielen Künstler*innen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Conor Finnegan, der ein Video für ihre Single „Sound of Horns“ (2014) animierte. Es gewann den Staff Pick von Vimeo, war für den Zebra Poetry Film Award nominiert und wurde auf dem Internationalen Trickfilm-Festival in Stuttgart gezeigt. Ihr Album „Garden of Beasts“, ihre EP „Before the Sunset Ends“ und ihre Singles wurden im Radio gespielt und sie hat die Bühne mit Shane MacGowan, Nick Cave, Kevin Morby und anderen geteilt. Sie hat Projekte mit der irischen Botschaft wie „An Irish Night In“ (2020) geleitet, war Mitbegründerin und Kuratorin des multidisziplinären Kunstfestivals „Craw“ (2018) und Gründerin des politischen und künstlerischen Forums Re:Public (2011) in Dublin.

Anita Killi

(Dovre, Norwegen)

Biografie

Anita Killi ist eine norwegische Animationsfilmemacherin, die Illustration, Grafikdesign, Animation und Dokumentarfilm studiert hat. Sie hat ihren Master-Abschluss in handgemachter Animation / Multiplantechnik an der KHiO – Oslo National Academy of the Arts gemacht. Anita Killi betreibt seit 1995 das Studio Trollfilm auf ihrer Farm in Dovre, Norwegen. Sie ist vor allem für „The Hegde of Thorns“ (2001) über Kinder und Krieg und „Angry Man“ (2009) über Gewalt in Familien bekannt. Anita Killis Filme berühren in der Regel Tabuthemen, und sie haben rund 100 Auszeichnungen erhalten.

Anna Mantzaris

(Stockholm, Schweden)

Biografie

Anna Mantzaris ist eine mehrfach preisgekrönte schwedische Animationsregisseurin. Sie liebt es, mit verschiedenen Texturen und Materialien zu arbeiten, um mit ihrer Arbeit das Gefühl von etwas Handgemachtem zu vermitteln. Oft setzt sie Humor ein sowie sehr menschliche und unvollkommene Charaktere. Ihre Kurzfilme wurden mit über 60 internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der European Animation Award (2018), der Vimeo Best of the Year (2019), der Walt Disney Award (2013), der Publikumspreis des Ottawa International Animation Festival (2013) sowie der Lotte Reininger Förderpreis des Internationalen Trickfilmfestival Stuttgart (2018). Anna Mantzaris hat einen MA in Animation vom Royal College of Art und u. a. an Wes Andersons „Isle of Dogs“ gearbeitet.

Monique Renault

(Amsterdam, Niederlande)

Biografie

Monique Renault, geboren im französischen Rennes, studierte bildende Kunst an der École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux Arts in Rennes und Paris. Mit einem Stipendium für ein Animationsstudium ging sie 1966 nach Prag. 1972 wurde sie Chef-Animatorin im aaa Studio (Jaques Rouxel und Marcelle Ponti), ging sie 1976 nach Amsterdam und erlangte die niederländische Staatsbürgerschaft. 2003 bis 2010 arbeitete sie für PH Productions in der japanischen Hauptstadt Tokio. Als eine der ersten Animatorinnen thematisiert Monique Renault seit Anfang 1970 weibliche Sexualität, Geschlechterrollen und Vorurteile.

IW_Morten-Thorning-2021

Morten Thorning

(Viborg, Dänemark)

Biografie

Morten Thorning ist der Begründer von The Animation Workshop und leitete diesen von 1988 bis 2019. Angetrieben von seiner großen Leidenschaft für Animation hat er mit The Animation Workshop mehr als 200 animierte Kurzfilme, Dokumentar- und Wissenschaftsfilme sowie 30 Ausstellungen, Installationen und immersive XR-Produktionen produziert. Er entwickelte mehrere Ausbildungen und über 100 professionelle Kurse in Animation. 1997 führte er das dänische Animation-Artist-in-Residence Programm „Open Workshop“ ein und schuf 2012 das kombinierte Firmen- und Gründerzentrum Arsenalet (2012). Morten Thorning ist Gründer und Leiter des Viborg Animation Festivals und des R&D Center for Animation, Visualization and Digital Storytelling am VIA University College, das sich mit der künstlerischen Entwicklung von Animation und Storytelling in Kunst, Kultur und Kommunikation beschäftigt. Er wurde mit dem Bodil Preis (2017), dem Hanne Hansen Preis (2016) und dem Ping Preis (2020) ausgezeichnet.

Young Animation

Akin Akinsiku

(London, Groß-Britannien)

Biografie

Akin Akinsiku ist ein von der British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) ausgezeichneter Kreativer und Regisseur mit über 15 Jahren Erfahrung im Bereich Kinderfernsehen und Werbung. Er ist ein multidisziplinärer Geschichtenerzähler, dessen Arbeit vom Schreiben und der Regie von Werbespots für bekannte Marken wie Microsoft bis hin zur Schaffung von wegweisenden Markeninhalten in Kurz- und Langform im Kinderbereich reicht. Akin Akinsiku ist sowohl im Animations- als auch im Realfilmbereich tätig. Er hat für MTV und den Walt Disney Channel gearbeitet und war über acht Jahre Art Director bei Nickelodeon. Seine Arbeiten wurden international ausgestrahlt, unter anderem in Deutschland, der Türkei, Südafrika, Polen und den USA. Akin Akinsiku ist Firmenchef bei Five Apples und Mitschöpfer, Regisseur und Autor des BAFTA-nominierten CBeebies-Vorschuldramas „Apple Tree House“.

Daria Kashcheeva

(Prag, Tschechische Republik)

Biografie

Daria Kashcheeva studiert Animationsfilm an der Film- und Fernsehschule der Akademie der darstellenden Künste (FAMU) in Prag. Ihre Studienfilme wurden auf vielen internationalen Festivals gezeigt. Daria Kashcheevas Originalfilm „To Accept“ (2017) gewann den Nespresso Talents Filmwettbewerb beim Filmfestival in Cannes. Ihre Bachelor-Puppenanimation „Daughter“ (2019) hatte auf dem Annecy Animation Film Festival Premiere und erhielt dort den Cristal Award für den besten Studierendenfilm und den Young Jury Award in der Sektion Studierendenfilm. Beim ITFS 2020 gewann er den Young Animation Award. Der Film erhielt den 46. Student Academy Award in der Kategorie International Animation, den Short Film Jury Award für Animation auf dem Sundance Film Festival 2020 und wurde für den 92. Academy Award für den besten kurzen Animationsfilm nominiert. Derzeit bereitet sie ihren Master-Abschlussfilm „Electra. A Poem“ in Stop-Motion-Pixilationstechnik vor.

Daniel Höpfner

(Hamburg, Deutschland)

Biografie

Daniel Höpfner ist ein Experimentator und Innovator des Stop Motion Films. Er absolvierte die Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF und arbeitet seit 2007 als freischaffender Filmemacher und Musiker. Seine filmische Laufbahn begann er Anfang der 1990er Jahre mit anarchischen Super 8 Filmen und abstrakt-visuellen Experimenten. Seine Stop Motion- und Puppentrickfilme haben zahlreiche Preise gewonnen, u.a. den Preis für den „Most Imaginative Film“ beim Odense Film Festival für „Cherchez la femme“ (2002) und den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis in Gold für „Anhalter“ (2008).

AniMovie

Foto: Lena Jürgensen

Reza Memari

(Berlin / New York)

Biografie

Reza Memari ist ein preisgekrönter Animations-Drehbuchautor und Regisseur. Er ist Autor, Editor und Co-Regisseur von „A Stork’s Journey“ (2017), der bei der Berlinale Premiere feierte und weltweit gute Kritiken bekam sowie kommerziell erfolgreich war. 2018 hat er die Telescope Animation Studios in Berlin und Hamburg mitgegründet. Das Unternehmen entwickelt derzeit „The Last Whale Singer“ (2024), ein episches Unterwasser-Story-Universum, bestehend aus einem Spielfilm, einem Videospiel, einer Serie und einem XR-Erlebnis. Er lebt in Berlin und Brooklyn, New York.

Hideki Nagaishi

(London, Groß-Britannien)

Biografie

Nach seinem Master-Abschluss in Innovationsmanagement am Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in London und nachdem er sich mit der Entwicklung innovativer Animationen und Comics durch die Verschmelzung verschiedener Kulturen beschäftigt hatte, startete Hideki Nagaishi „Animationweek“, ein Online-Interview-Magazin für Animationsprofis weltweit. Seit der Gründung interviewt er als Chefredakteur führende Animationsprofis aus aller Welt mit seiner Leidenschaft für die Förderung der internationalen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Animationsschaffenden mit dem Ziel, bahnbrechende Animationen hervorzubringen.

Irene Wellershoff

(Mainz, Deutschland)

Biografie

Irene Wellershoff war bis 2020 Redaktionsleiterin im Kinderprogramm des ZDF. Vor vielen Jahren hat sie „Siebenstein“ erfunden, wo seither animierte Kurzfilme einen festen Platz haben. Neben zahlreichen Serien (u.a. „Pingu“, „Ritter Rost“, „Biene Maja“, „Wickie“, „Petzi“, „Lieselotte“), Kinofilmen (u.a. „Hände weg von Mississippi“, „Bibi und Tina“, „Pettersson und Findus“, „Timm Thaler“, „Die Heinzels“) und der Initiative „Der besondere Kinderfilm“ ist sie verantwortlich für die Reihe „Märchenperlen“. Die Programme ihrer Redaktion haben zahlreiche nationale und internationale Preise gewonnen, wie den Prix Jeunesse, den Bundesfilmpreis, den Goldenen Spatz, den Japan Preis, den Geisendörfer Preis und den Grimme Preis. 2018 wurde sie mit der Hanauer Märchendozentur ausgezeichnet. Seit 2020 arbeitet sie an eigenen Projekten.

Animated Games Award Germany

Sabine Harrer

Department of Game Design, Uppsala University, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Linda Breitlauch

Professorin für Game Design an der Hochschule Trier und Chief Creative Officer bei Skilltree GmbH, Trier

Philipp Stollenmayer

Selbstständiger Spiele-Designer, Würzburg

Foto: Fabian Stürtz

Prof. Dr. Judith Ackermann

Professorin für Digitale und Vernetzte Medien in der Sozialen Arbeit, Potsdam

Deutscher Animationsdrehbuchpreis

Peter Keydel

Film – und Fernsehproduzent, Mistral Film, Düsseldorf, Mago Production, Barcelona

Holger Weiss

CEO, Head of Animation M.A.R.K. 13, Stuttgart

Silke Wilfinger

Managing Director, Silkwayfilms, München

Maite Woköck

CEO & Producer, Telescope Animation Studios, Hamburg

Trickstar Business Award

Jens Gutfleisch

Managing Director, Film Commission Region Stuttgart, Stuttgart

Foto: Corneel de Wilde

Tünde Vollenbroek

Producer, Studio Pupil, Curator, Kaboom Animation Festival

Dieter Krauß

Managing Director Organisation & Finances, Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH, Stuttgart

Gabriele M. Walther

Founder, CEO, Caligari Film- und Fernsehproduktions GmbH, München munich, Traffix Entertainment GmbH, Stuttgart

Marc König

Head of Business Developement, bwcon Research gGmbH, Stuttgart

Solveig Langeland

Managing Director, Sola Media, Stuttgart

New World Classic Animation Award

Zeljko Lopicic

CEO at Instant Music Licensing GmbH, Stuttgart

Daniela Schübel

Managing Director at Frau Schübel Tonstudio, Stuttgart

Michael Fakesch

Founder of Designing Sounds, Rosenheim

Elisabeth Jakobi

Animation artist, illustrator, Wien / Vienna